.et-pb-contact-message { color: #fffff; font-size: 16px; text-align: center; }
Select Page

HAPAG-LLOYD first-ever conversion of large container ship to LNG

 

.

Hamburg, March 12, 2019 – The Hamburg-based engineering company TECHNOLOG services GmbH has received an order from HAPAG-LLOYD to carry out the world’s first conversion of a large container ship to use liquified natural gas (LNG) propulsion.

TECHNOLOG has already been involved in the pilot project by providing technical consulting services during the preliminary phase of the conversion, such as by coordinating the market-leading system suppliers and selecting the shipyard in which the conversion will be carried out. The Hamburg-based LNG specialists will now also assume responsibility for coming up with the overall conversion design for the Chinese Hudong-Zhonghua Shipbuilding group along with the executing repair yard Huarun Dadong Dockyard (HRDD).

„With our design, we have succeeded in intelligently combining the existing design with additional components, systems and software,” says Hans-Jürgen Voigt, Managing Director of TECHNOLOG. “By allowing LNG to be used as a fuel, this retrofitting will help us to achieve the optimum balance of environmental protection, sustainability and economically efficient operation in the shipping industry. As a demonstrator vessel, the SAJIR will set the benchmark for future conversions of vessels of this size.”

All designs, documents and certificates relevant for the DNV GL classification society will be realised in very close coordination with HAPAG-LLOYD’s Fleet Management or prepared by TECHNOLOG for the conversion yard in the form of specification drawings and production documents.

“With the unprecedented pilot of converting the SAJIR, we hope to pave the way for large ships to be retrofitted to use this alternative fuel,” says Richard von Berlepsch, Managing Director Fleet Management at HAPAG-LLOYD. “Working with TECHNOLOG, we will have a reliable partner at our side for this project.”

A construction supervision team with members from both TECHNOLOG and HAPAG-LLOYD will be on-site at the Shanghai shipyard to monitor the prefabrication of the LNG tanks and the cryogenic gas components as well as the subsequent ship conversion itself.

The demanding and pioneering project that TECHNOLOG is assuming leadership of will set the standard for future conversions of this type in addition to being prepared and executed in a hitherto atypical constellation of a consortium of suppliers. The consortium will be made up of the main suppliers of the components needed for the conversion as well as the Huarun Dadong Dockyard Co., Ltd. repair yard in Shanghai.

The SAJIR, a 15,000 TEU vessel, is already one of the most energy-efficient ships in the world. As the lead ship in a HAPAG-LLOYD class with 10 sister vessels, the SAJIR will now be converted into an “LNG demonstrator vessel“ in order to showcase the potential that this alternative fuel holds for the international shipping industry.

 

%

S

%

PM10

%

NOX

%

CO2

The use of LNG in large container ships such as these has the potential to almost completely (more than 90 percent) eliminate emissions of sulphur and diesel particulate matter in their exhaust gases as well as to reduce emissions of both nitrogen oxides and carbon dioxide by around a third.

By using LNG, the SAJIR can lower its CO2 emissions by 31 percent and thereby have emissions at only half the limit to be introduced in 2025, with the international Energy Efficiency Design Index (EEDI) as the yardstick.

Your contact

Hans-Jürgen Voigt

Managing Director TECHNOLOG services GmbH

.et-pb-contact-message { color: #fffff; font-size: 16px; text-align: center; }
Seite auswählen

HAPAG-LLOYD rüstet erstes Großcontainerschiff auf LNG um

 

.

Hamburg, 12. März 2019 – Das in Hamburg ansässige Ingenieurbüro TECHNOLOG services GmbH hat von HAPAG-LLOYD den Auftrag zur Realisierung der weltweit ersten LNG-Umrüstung eines Großcontainerschiffes erhalten.

Bereits in der Vorphase zur Umrüstung war TECHNOLOG in das Pilotprojekt mit technischen Beratungsleistungen einschließlich Koordinierung der marktführenden Systemlieferanten und der Werftenauswahl eingebunden. Nun übernehmen die Hamburger LNG-Spezialisten auch die gesamte Umbaukonstruktion für die chinesische Hudong-Zhonghua Werftengruppe mit der ausführenden Reparaturwerft Huarun Dadong Dockyard (HRDD).

„Mit unserem Design ist uns eine intelligente Kombination der vorhandenen Konstruktion mit zusätzlichen Komponenten, Systemen und Software gelungen. Durch den Einsatz von LNG als Treibstoff schaffen wir mit der Umrüstung eine optimale Balance zwischen Umweltschutz, Nachhaltigkeit und einem wirtschaftlichen Betrieb in der Schifffahrt“, sagt Hans-Jürgen Voigt, Managing Director bei TECHNOLOG. „Die SAJIR wird als Demonstrator Vessel den Maßstab für künftige Umrüstungen bei Schiffen dieser Größenordnung sein.“

Alle für die Klassifikationsgesellschaft DNVGL relevanten Zeichnungen, Dokumente und Zertifikate werden in engster Abstimmung mit dem Fleet Management von HAPAG-LLOYD ausgeführt, beziehungsweise von TECHNOLOG für die Umbauwerft als Ausführungszeichnungen und Fertigungsunterlagen aufbereitet.

„Die Umrüstung der SAJIR ist ein bis dato einmaliger Pilot durch den wir hoffen, Wegbereiter für Umrüstungen von Großschiffen auf diesen alternativen Treibstoff zu sein“, sagt Richard von Berlepsch, Managing Director Fleet Management bei HAPAG-LLOYD. „Mit TECHNOLOG haben wir für dieses Projekt einen zuverlässigen Partner an unserer Seite.“

Die Vorfertigung des LNG Tanks und der kryogenen Gas Komponenten, sowie der spätere Schiffsumbau selbst, werden von einem gemeinsamen Bauaufsichtsteam von TECHNOLOG und HAPAG-LLOYD auf der Werft in Shanghai begleitet.

Dieses anspruchsvolle und richtungweisende Pionierprojekt, dessen Führung der TECHNOLOG obliegt, wird in einer bisher nicht üblichen Konstellation eines Lieferantenkonsortiums vorbereitet und durchgeführt. Mitglieder in dieser Gemeinschaft sind die Hauptlieferanten für die Komponenten der Umrüstung sowie die Umbauwerft Huarun Dadong Dockyard Co., Ltd. in Shanghai.

Das 15.000 TEU Schiff SAJIR gehört bereits jetzt zu den energieeffizientesten Schiffen der Welt. Als Typschiff einer Serie von insgesamt 10 Schwesterschiffen von HAPAG-LLOYD wird sie nun als „LNG Demonstrator Vessel“ umgerüstet, um das Potential dieses alternativen Treibstoffes für die internationale Schifffahrtsbranche aufzuzeigen.

 

%

S

%

PM10

%

NOX

%

CO2

Der Einsatz von LNG bei Großcontainerschiffen wie diesem hat das Potential, die bisherigen Abgase mit Bezug auf Schwefelemissionen und Dieselfeinstaubpartikeln nahezu vollständig zu eliminieren (mehr als 90 Prozent) und sowohl Stickoxyde wie auch Kohlendioxyde um rund ein Drittel zu reduzieren.

Der internationale Energy Efficiency Design Index (EEDI) als Messlatte des CO2-Ausstoßes kann für die MV SAJIR durch den Einsatz von LNG um 31 Prozent sinken und betrüge zukünftig nur noch die Hälfte des für 2025 gesetzten Grenzwertes.

Ihr Ansprechpartner

Hans-Jürgen Voigt

Geschäftsführer Technolog services Gmbh